Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2011

anyone ever quit motocross and just ride mtn bikes

I have been riding motox for a while, just getting to the point where im not riding to my potential because of the fear of getting hurt (family, job, etc..). Was thinking of stopping all together and just concentrating on mtn biking. Although i still race cars im wondering if i will miss that feeling of twisting the throttle compared to pedaling. I have mtn biked before and do find it fun and great exercise, im just a motorhead

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    Although I dont ride moto X, I do ride motorcycles in the woods and do an occasional off road race, I would NEVER give up riding motorcycles or bicycles. I have been riding motorcycles and Mt bikes since I was 12 years old. Every time I hurt myself on either one I go through a phase of questioning wether it is worth it to continue riding and pushing myself on the said sport and I soon come to the realization that I am already missing riding. DONT GIVE UP ON RIDING MOTORCYCLES, it is a great sport. I have slowed down over the years on DH bikes and Motorcycles, but they still are the #1 thing on my mind. So YES, YOU WILL MISS IT!!!

Motocrosser Turned MTBer
    Feb 2013
    I was forced to quit due to too many injuries. I think about it every time I hear or see a bike. My family still rides, so I can do 1 or 2 races each season by borrowing a bike from my dad or brother. I'm extremely lucky that I have that option. I agree with ^^^. If I didn't have the option of just borrowing a bike, I'd have one just so I could ride when I get the urge. I haven't raced to my full potential in almost 10 years, but getting out and running a C class race once or twice a year still feels good. Plus some of my best friends I've ever had, I met through racing. Keep on riding, just might be time to be OK going out for Sunday ride more than full throttle every moto.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ajcjr View Post