mtbr member

Another "Where to live?" Thread

So, I'm 18 and living in northern Indiana. While I like the people and community in general, I hate the weather and the trails are quite lacking, as well as the number of riders/racers, especially at the CAT 1 level (on the mtb side, plenty of roadies...). I am looking to pursue a career as a bike mechanic, and/or really any job in the industry. I am also an aspiring racer, Im going to see how far I can take it. As of right now, I'm not planning on pursuing higher education, so I'm trying to decide what part of the country Id like to live in. I'm finishing up my senior year right now, so hopefully I will be moving before next winter sets in. I have been working at the LBS part time for 4 years now, so I have a decent amount of experience wrenching. Two of the most important things to consider are the number of bike shops in the area, and warm winters ( I hate the cold, but don't mind heat as much).
    I've been looking seriously at southwestern Utah, St. George area. The weather seems to be perfect as well as a decent number of bike shops in the area. Ive been to Colorado Springs and Durango on vacation, I really like the springs but it seems to be a little to cold in the winter. Durango was alright as well, I really liked the town but the trails I rode I didn't like as much as the springs. I've also been in southern New Mexico, I greatly enjoyed the Silver City area, but there doesn't seem to be any towns that are big enough to have a number of shops, maybe I haven't looked hard enough.
    So enough rambling, it basically boils down to this:

Things I care about:
    1. Warm winters
    2. Number of shops, especially high end. Im sick of working on $200 commuter bikes that aren't taken care of 90% of the time.
    3. Trail quality, variety, etc. lots of elevation change a must.
    4. Pollution, not a fan
    5. Growing up in a small town, Im not a fan of big cities for many reasons.