Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Obviously Single

WRT West: In Great Shape

Hi All:

Just a quick note to say the Wilson River Trail is in great shape this year!

Evidently we haven't had the wind storms (yet?) that the last two years have seen, and there are very few trees down on the trail.

I rode the west end of the Wilson River Trail, from Keenig Creek (almost empty):

This was the only picture I took. I started my ride about 1PM, and I was unsure how long the loop would take in my current ... "shape". So I hauled a$$ once I started riding.

I started riding by heading up the highway for a little over 2 miles (not too bad on a single speed), then crossed back over the Wilson River at Foot Bridge. These pictures are Foot Bridge from a while back (with my friend Tim):

I love this part of the Wilson River Trail, because it is a little more rugged than the rest, getting used much less, so it has fewer peeps, more animals (saw lots of evidence of bears), and it's a hoot to ride the 21 switchbacks coming back down into Keenig Creek.

Here's another photo from last year, from the top of the 21 switchbacks. Nice view from there:

Lastly, here's some data from the ride. First, the elevation profile:

And a Google Maps 3-D view, looking North:

I don't know why more folks don't ride out here, but I was just glad to have a great ride in February!
    The Lee-Man

A witty saying proves nothing. -- Voltaire

Singletrack Addict
    Alright, alright, I'll get out there, I promise!

Nice pics Lee, thanks for sharing.
    Living in NEPO, I don't get out that way enough.

I got nothin'

I agree

That's probably my favorite part of WRT too. Very few people venture west of the Footbridge. Last year the section west of Wolf Creek was absolutely hammered with trees down. Mr. Nailon walked from Keening to Wolf Creek to survey the damage and it took him about 4 hours climbing over downed trees and around washouts.