GEAUX TIGERS!!!

wildfires and ridin this week

I forgot all about the Dollar Wildfire happening on the north flank of Mt Hood this past Monday, with the intention of riding Surveyors/Dog River. I did not even attempt riding this or Knebal, 15 mile or even Gunsight/Gumjuac for that matter, because of the heavy smoke around, thinking I would have trouble breathing and eye irritation.

Im no wildfire expert by any means, so what do you all think as far as the trails that will not be ridable because of the fires this next week or two? Im thinking anything on the east side of Mt. Hood (the trails I mentioned above). Is Syncline and Falls Creek being affected as well?
    Also, I see a thread on McKenzie River area already on here, but do you all think it is safe to ride it this Friday, being close to the fire near Sisters. Im planning on riding MRT Friday.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Rode Knebal/High Prarie trails this past weekend. Couldn't smell the smoke at all, but it all depends on which way the wind is blowing. Check the wind/weather forecast. Trails were super sandy, though.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Three Corner Rock is perfect right now.What happened to WALDO Hagen?Too much tiger celebration?Falls Creek is great as well...Lewis River too.
    Master of Laundry...Lord of Cleaning!

GEAUX TIGERS!!!
    Yeah, Waldo didnt happen this past week because I did not have 2 full days to spare. MRT this Friday definitely, then who knows. I definitely want to do Waldo some time really soon.

Because of the wildfire scenario, I rearranged my riding this past Monday and rode up to Timberline for the first time (not bad of a climb at all along Westfir TR), then bombed the Glade Trail and then rode the Crosstown Trail out and back. Glade could be so much better and actually a destination and probably will when Timberline Bike Park comes.
    Last edited by RighteousTrail; 09-07-2011 at 03:53 PM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011