Thread: southern oregon

mtbr member
    May 2004

southern oregon

I was wondering if there is good riding other than what is posted on MTBR in the GP-Medford-Ashland area. I am applying for a job in the area (I am a veterinarian) but am afraid of leaving colorado and all the good riding here... and am struggling with the basic question of: would I be happy there? You don't have to give up the goods, just a general consensus on the quality of riding would be sufficient (if you want to give up some goods, that's okay too...)
    -l

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by lgoodwin
    I was wondering if there is good riding other than what is posted on MTBR in the GP-Medford-Ashland area. I am applying for a job in the area (I am a veterinarian) but am afraid of leaving colorado and all the good riding here... and am struggling with the basic question of: would I be happy there? You don't have to give up the goods, just a general consensus on the quality of riding would be sufficient (if you want to give up some goods, that's okay too...)
    -l
    I live in Grants Pass, and while I'm not really a hard-core rider, I do get around, and we have some good trails here.

The best, (in my non-expert opinion) is the Powers-to-Glendale bike path, a paved road that goes from Glendale to the ocean, and is riddled with old logging roads on either side that stretch for countless miles into the mountains.

But there's many, many other areas in the local national forest where there are old logging roads to ride on.

In Grants Pass, itself, there is an area called Catherderal Hills which is too gnarly for me, but a lot of local guys like to ride it, it's just a few minutes away...

Ed

mtbr member
    Mar 2005