Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

OT: Cross country ski question

4K views 34 replies 11 participants last post by  dwt 
#1 ·
#3 ·
Shows how much I know! I just figured it was as simple as the two techniques. :)

I've never done it before so I really don't know what I really am looking for. I'd like to go to the sno parks up by Bachelor and even the nordic trails at Bachelor. I think that the skate technique looks a little more fun.

Does that help?

#4 ·
That ski looks to be a groomed trail touring ski and would be great if you want to stay on the groomed. It's narrow enough for in or out of the track. You can certainly skate with it, or any ski for that matter, but nothing works as well as a true skate ski to skate.

Skate skis have no sidecut (Straight edges from tip to tail) to allow you to set the edge and control when skating. For ease of skating they are slightly shorter than touring skis for your given height. They have very little camber (arch built into the ski from tip to tail) which allows you to push off the edge much easier than a touring ski with more camber. Most skate skis also have waxable bases and no grip pattern cut into the base like touring skis.

Touring skis have more camber so the grip section (Center area with textured pattern or Grip Wax) remains above the snow for ease of glide when standing evenly on both skis. When you stand on one ski the ski flattens out to allow traction to kick forward.

And if you want to explore off trail, I'd look into touring skis with a metal edge, the metal edges help in firmer to icy conditions. These are shorter and with more side cut to allow better maneuverability and are wider for more stability. Skis with more side cut, metal edges and wider width don't track as well on groomed snow. Also look into a ski with a grip pattern cut into the base.

Hope this helps.

#22 · (Edited)
And IMO, there is nothing more aerobically challenging that skate skiing.