Obviously Single

New question here. Great Bike Shops?

Hi All:

I'm new to the Portland MTB scene, just having moved here a couple of months ago, and not riding much yet (I have some knee problems).

Can anybody recommend some great bike shops around Portland? I live over south of Hillsboro, so anything on the west side would be better, but I'm willing to driver whereever needed to get the right shop.

I'd also prefer a shop that has some high-end bikes, since those kind of shops seem to (usually) do a better job of working on such bikes.

Thanks in advance.
    The Lee-Man

A witty saying proves nothing. -- Voltaire

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by LeeMan
    Hi All:

I'm new to the Portland MTB scene, just having moved here a couple of months ago, and not riding much yet (I have some knee problems).

Can anybody recommend some great bike shops around Portland? I live over south of Hillsboro, so anything on the west side would be better, but I'm willing to driver whereever needed to get the right shop.

I'd also prefer a shop that has some high-end bikes, since those kind of shops seem to (usually) do a better job of working on such bikes.

Thanks in advance.
    Since you're on the west side you could try Tim at Fat Tire Farm. Universal Cycles just moved over to Thurman street too but they are sales only- can't beat them for sales though. If you go there ask for Josh.

Daniel the Dog
    Mar 2008

A few....

Hi All:

Thanks in advance.
    River City puts out a very good effort! They have a ton in stock. I would avoid the Fat Tire Farm like a flaming case of hemmroids. The owner has a huge attitude. Bike Gallery is very good too. Cycle Path in NE Portland is very good. Lots of good shops in Portland. However, my favorite place is Universal Cycles. Mike has sold me lots of parts and worked on my bike with good results.

Jaybo

mtbr member