42t
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Bendites: Edison, Lava?

Hey there - I'm guessing it's too soon to ride from Edison to Lava, or from Lava on 99 to Sparks or Bachelor?

Afric Pepperbird
    Edison/Lava is around 5800 feet in elevation. That elevation has been snow-free for quite some time. But I've not ridden there yet this year, so I have no first-hand knowledge.

Deadfall may be an issue.

it means 'no problem'
    It's not cleared of logs yet. You probably don't even want to attempt it because the number of dead and dying trees in there is substantial. A typical year we cut about 50 trees off just the Lava side.

That said, if you do go, please report back so we know how much chainsaw fuel to bring...
    "“May your trails be crooked, winding, lonesome, dangerous, leading to the most amazing view." - Edward Abbey

No pain no gain
    Nov 2006

Good job! Sparks / Lava and Edison / Lava trail ; Bend, Oregon

Quote Originally Posted by sans soucie
    It's not cleared of logs yet. You probably don't even want to attempt it because the number of dead and dying trees in there is substantial. A typical year we cut about 50 trees off just the Lava side.

That said, if you do go, please report back so we know how much chainsaw fuel to bring...
    Is Edison/Lava clear yet? It's a late start this year at elevation, and I am all too familiar with dead fall on this trail early in the year.

How about Sparks/Lava... is this ride-able yet? Who is responsible for clearing these trails, or is it a volunteer thing?

Happy trails...

Nat
    Solo contendre
    Quote Originally Posted by gregoryb02
    Is Edison/Lava clear yet? It's a late start this year at elevation, and I am all too familiar with dead fall on this trail early in the year.

How about Sparks/Lava... is this ride-able yet? Who is responsible for clearing these trails, or is it a volunteer thing?

Happy trails...
    You mean in the last four days? I'd guess it's not clear yet.

No pain no gain
    Nov 2006