Thread: Bend Visit 9/21

mtbr member
    Jun 2012

Bend Visit 9/21

A friend and I are visiting Bend next weekend. It is my first time to Bend am looking for a couple of good rides. We are coming from Boise and planning to ride a long ride Saturday & a short Sunday.

We are intermediate level skill and endurance. Both have HT 29ers.

Looking for some good intel on what to ride. Saturday we are looking for a 15+ mile ride mostly singletrack with a good mix of flow, tech and trees. We can hand a decent up hill if necessary, though would prefer not to do our normal 1hr+ constant uphill.

So far we have come up with Edison-lava lake, Waldo Lake, Mrazek, and Tumalo loop as options for our long ride.

We were looking at probably bumming around Phils for the Sunday ride or doing a shuttle up to bachelor.

Let me know what you recommend. Lastly, any good bad or the other on Bend Cyclery? They have a Norco I've been dying to demo (would have if Sun Valley wasn't burning the past month), might end up making a terrible vacation impulse buy.

COTA member
    For a good feel of the Central Oregon single track..

Mrazek->Metolius/Windago->Flagline->Swede Ridge->Whoops->Ben's. Makes for a nice 45 mile loop. I typically ride it in about 4.5 hours on my 29er HT.

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    Dry Side thanks for the feedback but h0lysh!t with the mileage. How much total vert is that?

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Dry Side View Post
    Mrazek->Metolius/Windago->Flagline->Swede Ridge->Whoops->Ben's. Makes for a nice 45 mile loop. I typically ride it in about 4.5 hours on my 29er HT.
    Holy crap man. Averaging 10 MPH on that ride is great!

Afric Pepperbird
    I'd skip Edison-Lava Lake. It's just not that fun.

Think about the Cog Wild shuttle from Dutchman and ride into town. It's a great ride, and only $10 a person! Nowhere near as brutal as Dry Side's suggestion.