MarkyMark

Accomodation Recommendations for MRT

I'm heading up to MBO next week. It's my first time riding in OR so I want to make the most of it. I'm planning on leaving a day early (Wednesday) to ride the MRT on Thursday before heading over to Oakridge.

Where should I stay and how should I arrange a shuttle?

I'll be doing enough camping at MBO so I'm looking for a hotel/motel that's bike friendly. Francois and the Norcal crew stayed at Harbick's Country Inn so I have that in mind. I did a bit of reading on this forum and it sounds like Harbick's Country Store does shuttles.

There's a high probability that I will be up there solo. Is that going to be a problem for the shuttle? Is there a schedule for the shuttles? I'll want to eat and drink soon after the ride. The Country Store sounds like a no-brainer, but is there somewhere else that anyone would recommend for recovery food (not fast/junk)?

BTW, I bought simonbsays' MBO ticket.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    If you're looking at lodging, Harbick's Inn is probably the ticket. You can research B&B's in the area (McKenzie Bridge, Blue River), but Harbick's is probably your best bet.

If you're solo and adventurous like I am, I don't mind parking at (or riding to) the lowre trailhead and hitchhiking to the top. If you put up a thread announcing an MRT ride, you might get some takers, and you can arrange your own shuttle.

How much does Harbick's charge for a shuttle?

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Can you ride back up highway 126 to the trail head? How long on the pavement and how dangerous would that road be?

Thanks,
    Jeff

MarkyMark
    Thanks for the response. Harbick's hasn't responded (no online booking) so I'm going to book a room in Eugene/Springfield. I'd like to be closer to the trail head, but it's my first time in the area and don't want to be arrive at 1am and find out that they're sold out like the Hilton in Eugene.