mtbr member
    Nov 2011

OnOne Lurcher build up Tips & Tricks

So I'm sure like a lot of people, I've got a Lurcher on it's way. That sale price for a carbon frame was too good to pass up.
    I hope I'm not going to regret ordering the 19.5, same size as my Inbred. Couple of reviews talk about the lack of standover.

Can any of the present Lurcher owners provide any tips and tricks on building the frame up? I've never worked with carbon before.

As usual, the descriptions and info provided on the OnOne site was vague and confusing. The headset recommended on the site was the Smoothie mixer standard. The only headset on the site is the Smoothie mixer tapered. Hopefully that is the right one. The name says tapered but in it's description it says it comes with the crown race for a straight 1 1/8 steerer and you have to order the tapered crown race separately. Hopefully the description is correct as I'll be running a straight steerer. I included in my order a request for confirmation but didn't hear anything back.

I've ordered a Shimano PF92 bottom bracket. The review at Project 1.2 Review: On-One?s convention-challenging $800 Lurcher carbon 29er frame says a spacer is required - and maybe Loctite. Finally found the installation instructions at:
    http://techdocs.shimano.com/media/te...9830625426.pdf

I've also ordered a seat post and seat collar. Other than that, I'm expecting everything else to move over from one of my Inbred's. Setting it up 1X9 so the front derailleur isn't an issue.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010

I have a steel 29er Inbred and a Lurcher. Got lots of miles on both. Love them. A couple things on the Lurcher:

@ Smoothie Mixer headset works well, and I think you are right that it typically comes with a race for an 1 1/8th-inch steerer tube and you have to order a 1.5-inch crown race separately. There are other tapered headsets out there, but they will cost much more than the Smoothie Mixer.