mtbr member
    Feb 2014

First build 456-few questions

So i'm about to embark on building my first bike. I'm a complete novice when it comes to wrenching on bicycles. I realize before hand that I will spend more money this way than buying complete, however I really want to acquire the knowledge and skills to be able to build/service a bike. Firstly, I have a separate bike that I wish to transfer the Sram X7 2x10 drivetrain and avid elixir brakes over to the 456 frame. Fi I'm unsure if the bottom bracket will swap properly however. I know the bottom bracket shell itself for both bikes is 68mm. The BB is an external type which I know can be compensated by removing/adding spacers but im lost on how exactly to verify the chainline isn't going to be ****ed when installing on the 456. Should I measure the chainline from the middle of the 2 chainrings to the center of the BB on the current bike to get a measurement? I haven't yet chosen a wheelset for the 456 so I don't know the hub size either which also affects chainline right? Lol. Help a noob out please. I haven't ordered the 456 yet because I was thinking I might have to order a BB with it if I can't get a swap from the one I have. Thank you! I'm going to start reading up on some other builds too so I don't come in as a complete idiot.
    Last edited by Jayrock205; 07-06-2014 at 12:37 AM.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    Found out I was wrong regarding the 456 having a 68mm BB, it is a 73mm. So the BB won't swap from my previous bike. X7 crankset should though with the absence of spacers. Not sure what BB I should go with to accommodate the x7 cranks. I'm kind of lost when it comes to part compatibility.
    Last edited by Jayrock205; 06-25-2014 at 09:19 AM.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    If you have an external BB then you have a GXP BB. On your 68mm BB on your old bike there should be 2 shims on the non-drive side. On a 73mm BB you just remove those 2 shims.