Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Y'all learn me on small boats

Canoe
    Inflatable kayak
    Basically one of these but don't know which. Looking for ideas.
    Looking to car camp along tame rivers and maybe small lakes.
    Wanna be able to take some fishing gear and a 12 pack of beer along with a 2nd person so looking for something tandem.
    I need a good kick in the right direction. Oh and I would really like to keep it around $300 but may be swayed to do $500. It will just take a while. Is this an ok budget for something used? Will these types suit my needs? A total newb to this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    There's something about those long grueling climbs that gets my front end all stiff... And I'm not talking about lockout...

official eMpTyBRain
    Why not a rigid kayak? You can probably find a used one for cheap.
    ...and proud member of the anti-sock puppet desolation

mtbr member
    You should really test some in the waters you plan on traveling. A canoe can offer more room for gear and to move around but a kayak is much better for rougher stuff. Maybe a row boat?
    Don't know how much $ but the "Ultimate" kayak is pretty awesome. It's sort of a canoe/kayak cross with beach chairs attached.
    Check it out here Native Watercraft Website
    "Tortured by mental illness" ~monogod

Big Mac

A sit on top kayak is your best bet. Many come rigged for fishing and I'd bet they're all over CL.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Is there a decent device that supports 2 people as can also be steered alone? I will be with someone 90% of the time but also have interests to paddle alone just in case my balls drop. Nervous but I was when I first started Mtb too. I figure it won't e ideal but is possible.

There's something about those long grueling climbs that gets my front end all stiff... And I'm not talking about lockout...

AZ
    banned
    Quote Originally Posted by kikoraa View Post