Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2014

New Rider, First post, pedal question

Hey guys. I'm new to the mountain bike world. I just bought a trek marlin 6, 17.5. I like the bike but want to upgrade the pedal. It came with the standard plastic pedals. I don't know anything really. I know there are pedals that you can clip into with the right shoes. I will be doing mostly single track type riding. I feel like having to clip in and out of a pedal would be very hard to do. You guys with experience what pedals do you like for trail riding? I saw some that work as flats or clip in (they are basically clip in's with a broad cage to rest your foot on, so if you wanted to ride unclipped you could). Those could be a good option, I just have no idea which route to go and want to stick with what I buy even after I get more advanced. I'll never be doing really fast racing so speed isn't a big goal of mine, but I hope as I grow in experience to tackle more advanced trails so a good solid foundation that I can't accidentally slip off is necessary. However I don't want to have to clip out of attachment to my bike every time I want to put my foot down. I might if it's easier than I'm thinking it is. Anyway, sorry for going on and on. Basically I'm just wondering what you guys have found work well. Thanks

Fat-tired Roadie
    People have holy wars about this topic. Click around a bit - I'm sure some are raging right now.

Bottom line is that good flats work well and getting in and out of clipless pedals is pretty easy. IME, most pedals that try to compromise between the approaches don't do a good job.

I think you should learn to ride your trails and bunny hop on flats. Then if you're curious, try clipless and go with whatever you find you like better.

FWIW, I prefer clipless.
    "Don't buy upgrades; ride up grades." -Eddy Merckx

official eMpTyBRain
    ...and proud member of the anti-sock puppet desolation

All this harmonica stuff