mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Hello, this is Isaac from computer technical support

So, yesterday I got a phone call from "computer technical support". Now, if you've read some of my posts, you could probably guess that I work in the technology field, which in fact, I do. This was the third call that I got from this scam group.

Call 1: Their webhost was located in Columbus, OH (I'm from Ohio), so I call up the webhost and tell them about their website. Two hours later, their website was no longer in service.

Call 2: Their website was now located on a webhosting company in Europe, so, since I'm not going to incur long distance phone charges, I ran a vulnerability test on their site, and whoever designed it didn't think to patch their mysql server, and was vulnerable to a sql injection attack. A little while longer, and their website showed a 404 error.

And so, yesterday.. I was in a playful sort of mood, so instead of getting them shut down, I decided to play a bit. Here is the, as far as I can remember, script:

Phone rings, I answer
    Me: Hello?
    Isaac: Hello, this is Isaac from computer technical support..
    Me: Isaac? Come on now Isaac, what is your real name?
    Isaac: Excuse me?
    Me: Is your name Bob?
    Isaac: No, its Bobby.
    Me: Bobby? It's not Bob?
    Bobby: No, my name is Bobby.
    Me: Oh, ok Bobby, how are you doing today Bobby?
    Bobby: Not bad man, I'm kind of tired.
    Me: Your tired? You should get some sleep then
    Bobby: Yea man, I'm really tired.
    Me: I know what you mean, what time do you get off?
    Bobby: I don't know man
    Me: Well that sucks, should get some sleep when you get off though
    Bobby: Yea man, I think I might do that

At this point, I wanted to get some advice from our computer technician about doing something, like setting up a DNS server in Ubuntu or something.. or let him "walk me through" accessing their website, and pretending like I'm running Windows 3.1; or something.. but alas: