Thread: Electrocuted

mtbr member

Electrocuted

I am a contractor and work with electric a lot. I figured I should mention it before everyone jumps to the conclusion that I have no idea what I was doing.
    Anyway, I work with electric a lot and I have had small shocks from 120v many times accidentally touching wires. No big deal.
    Yesterday I was connecting some wires over a walk-in cooler, (metal cooler). I was going to cut one wire at a time and connect them like I have done hundreds of times. I was under the assumption the power was off but I was cutting only one wire at a time anyway to be safe as always.
    When I cut the wire I was grounded to the cooler and .
    I got hit with 240v from a 60 amp and I could not let go of the cutter. As I was being electrocuted for a good 10 seconds unable to break the link. I got the idea to roll off the cooler using my weight to break the connection as I began to realize I may actually die. This luckily worked but my face touched the cooler and then landed on a glass jar, cutting me as well.
    I now have cuts along my face and my nose and forehead are burned. I look like crap.
    I can say that it was the worst feeling I have ever felt. It was awful.
    I now have real high CK levels from muscle breakdown and have to me monitored and given fluids. This sucks.

Co Springs
    Holy cow that's a scary story, glad you survived.
    In the Middle Ages, the biggest mistake was not putting on your armor because you were 'just going down to the corner.'

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bachman1961 View Post
    Holy cow that's a scary story, glad you survived.
    Thanks

mtbr member