Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 50 of 58
  1. #1
    CB of the East
    Reputation: bedwards1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,971

    Do all Blu-ray players suck or is it just the ones I buy.

    Half Rant, Half serious question.

    I'm on my second player with multiple software upgrades to both. The discs look nice and clean but they still stop playing, the sounds cuts out. Blah Blah, Blah. When that happens I check for a software update which is a PITA because the internet connectivity of my most recent player sh1t the bed too. (We're only talking a few months old here, just long enough to be out of it's oh so long 90 day warranty) And sure enough I need to update it. Sometimes it fixes the problem and sometimes it only improves it

    I'm starting to think DVD is good enough. They can't all be this bad of the format would have already died.

    If anybody has had really good luck with a player post it here. I've tried Panasonic and Samsung - not recommended.

  2. #2
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    644
    I bought a Vizio w/built in wi-fi and apps a couple years ago and it hasn't failed me yet. But to be honest we rarely use it for discs, more for the Netflix and other apps. And since I really don't do the tech savvy thing a whole lot, I don't think I've ever updated the software on it, yet it still works.

  3. #3
    govt kontrakt projkt mgr
    Reputation: ArmySlowRdr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6,163
    Heard oppo was good. But I agree, ever since they came out with "smart" tv--that is all the built in wi-fi cr%p, the players have got SUPER-LIGHT and seem to be super sensitive. The good old play station 3 hasn't failed to play a blu ray yet.

  4. #4
    since 4/10/2009
    Reputation: Harold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19,404
    IME, all blu-ray players are WAY more sensitive to dirt/dust on the lens than the old DVD players. Do yourself a favor and get one of those cleaner discs with the brushes on it to get dust off of your pickup lens. I don't play movies in mine very often (most of my movies are had via streaming these days), so when I do, I usually have to run the cleaner disc in it for several minutes.

    I am sure that the climate and condition of your house makes a difference in how fast dust collects on the lens, too. Lots of dust in TX gave my blu-ray player fits, even though my wife and I keep a pretty clean house. My parents do NOT keep a clean house, but live in a far less dry/dusty climate, and they never have problems, and they have the same model of blu-ray player that I do.

  5. #5
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    Never had a problem with mine, but I was an early adopter and paid about 300-400 for mine and it's a Panasonic.

    If I understand right, they are basically a computer and load the information off your disc like the Playstation onto a hard drive of sorts. If your player can't handle the upload, it crashes. Sometimes I have to put a memory card in as some discs have more memory than my old player can handle.

    Mine is just a player..nothing fancy since the technology didn't exist. Never had a problem with my region-free DVD player either and it's probably 6-7 years old.

    I'm a hard copy person with Blu-rays/DVDs and CDs. Old school I guess. I tried Netflix, but wasn't that impressed.

    Have you gone online and looked for some reviews of your player to see if it's a common problem?

  6. #6
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Ever try a Sony? Figure they would be the best since they pioneered the technology.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  7. #7
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    302
    I've had 3 Blu Ray players. I had an early Sony. It was over $500 yet the loading mechanism failed after just a couple of years. I bought a $100 Panasonic. It works but is buggy and is very dust sensitive. My best player is an Oppo at $1000. It is an audiophile grade multi-format player. It has been fast and reliable with occasional cleanings.

    A friend has a Panasonic that was $200. It has worked well for him.

    Some of the new stuff is priced like the junk that it is. But functionality is suffering in these cheapo players the way it didn't with DVD.

  8. #8
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    thousand bucks for a Blu Ray player? Really?
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  9. #9
    govt kontrakt projkt mgr
    Reputation: ArmySlowRdr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    6,163
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    thousand bucks for a Blu Ray player? Really?
    same as multi-thousands for a bike. better buit, performing machines cost $$$$.95 (lol)

  10. #10
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    Sounds like a nice player Mike. Sometimes it's well worth the investment for nicer electronics.

    Welcome to MTBR.

  11. #11
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    302
    Quote Originally Posted by Bethany1 View Post
    Sounds like a nice player Mike. Sometimes it's well worth the investment for nicer electronics.

    Welcome to MTBR.
    Thanks. Good to be here.

  12. #12
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    same as multi-thousands for a bike. better buit, performing machines cost $$$$.95 (lol)
    I disagree. I have ridden low end bikes that ride better than anything more expensive that I have owned. Same for electronics. My low end stuff has lasted longer than name brand yet I haven't tried Blu Ray yet as we haven't started doing the whole HD thing yet. DVD is fine for us.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  13. #13
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    302
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    I disagree. I have ridden low end bikes that ride better than anything more expensive that I have owned. Same for electronics. My low end stuff has lasted longer than name brand yet I haven't tried Blu Ray yet as we haven't started doing the whole HD thing yet. DVD is fine for us.
    Yeah, I've had some really good inexpensive products; ones that just always work.

    I think it's more like a trend. There are good and bad at nearly any price point. But the good just becomes more dominant at higher ones. So the trick becomes finding these bargains. Ironically, Oppo players are exactly that. The exact same player with a different faceplate and name brand was selling for several thousand more.

    Still, if you aren't an audiophile, you can skip all of the fancy (and mostly superfluous) DACs and get an Oppo player that functions just as well for $500. But in a marketplace jammed with $100 players, even $500 is a hard sell.

  14. #14
    CB of the East
    Reputation: bedwards1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,971
    So the answer is mostly yes. Unless you want to drop the big bucks it's hit or miss. My first player was a Panasonic in the $250 range. I took it apart and cleaned the laser off but it wasn't dusty. The Samsung player is mostly new. The latest disk was pristine. ("Behind Enemy Lines") But there were Two 5 minute sections that just wouldn't play. The rest was fine.

    I may just start renting DVDs again. I'm willing to take the quality hit instead of getting halfway through a disk and having it crap out.

  15. #15
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Still, if you aren't an audiophile, you can skip all of the fancy (and mostly superfluous) DACs and get an Oppo player that functions just as well for $500. But in a marketplace jammed with $100 players, even $500 is a hard sell.
    I'll stick to $50 dollar Blu Ray players if we ever go that direction. I think we will stick to DVDs until they quit making them.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  16. #16
    banned
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,101
    Buy a PS3. Problem solved.

    No other Blu-Ray player has that many "other features", network connectivity, and constant firmware updates.

    -S

  17. #17
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    Just checked online for glitches for your movie..doesn't appear to be any. Some discs are faulty and if the manufacturer knows about it, they'll replace it. For example the "Crank 2" disc took up more memory than a lot of the players could handle. They didn't replace the disc, but you had to put a memory card in so the player could read the disc.

    Double sided discs are the worst and have the most problems. If something is double sided, I won't buy it. Universal Studios still hasn't figured out no one wants that format and are always replacing faulty discs.

    I'm still waiting for my "Highlander" 4,5 and 6 blu-rays that should have come out a couple of years ago because the studio is inept.

    The problem with a lot of lower end electronics is that they are considered "throw away" devices. Even a 200 dollar player can be considered "throw away" which sucks because for most of us, that's a lot of money.

    There is nothing wrong with DVDs and if that's your thing, no biggie. They aren't going anywhere. On some movies you can't tell a difference between the DVD and Blu-ray and on others you can. If you don't have an HD TV you won't notice anyway.

    I've never needed high end stuff although I can appreciate the sound and visual qualities of them. If I could make a movie theater room somewhere in my house I would. Then I would pay for the higher end equipment.

  18. #18
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    There is nothing wrong with DVDs and if that's your thing, no biggie. They aren't going anywhere. On some movies you can't tell a difference between the DVD and Blu-ray and on others you can. If you don't have an HD TV you won't notice anyway.
    The problem for me is I have seen several movies in HD and I just don't see the difference. Same thing with HD TV programming. Guess I'm one of those few that can't see a difference. Maybe it's all a market ploy to make more money.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  19. #19
    banned
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,101
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    The problem for me is I have seen several movies in HD and I just don't see the difference. Same thing with HD TV programming. Guess I'm one of those few that can't see a difference. Maybe it's all a market ploy to make more money.
    A big part of it is the TV..... a good store will let you futz with the TV settings instead of the "Bright and Dazzling" store demo setting that most store TVs are set on. It's a marketing thing - the brightest, highest contrast, most colorful TV's get the attention when set alongside other TV's but these same settings are awful to watch a movie in, especially in a home-theater setting.

    TV calibration is also important. Sony-published blu-ray discs (i.e. Sony/Columbia pictures) come with a built in calibration tool. When the main disc menu comes up when the disc is inserted into the player, press 7669 (i.e. SONY) on the remote and it will launch the calibration screen "easter egg". Adjust the TV settings for the best contrast, tint/hue, etc and you will see a marked improvement in picture quality during playback.

    ...when it comes to hanging, random stopped playback, etc, I have never experienced any of those issues watching blu-ray movies on the PS3.

    -S

  20. #20
    since 4/10/2009
    Reputation: Harold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19,404
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    The problem for me is I have seen several movies in HD and I just don't see the difference. Same thing with HD TV programming. Guess I'm one of those few that can't see a difference. Maybe it's all a market ploy to make more money.
    There is a marked difference whether you can tell or not. You see it but are unable to discern it.

    Also, a given screen size has an optimal resolution and viewing distance. Discerning the difference between resolutions becomes difficult to impossible outside those optimal ranges.

  21. #21
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    For those that can tell, it's there. Picked up the Bond set recently and the picture quality is absolutely fantastic for those films. Some of the WWII movies that have come out amazing as well. They need to restore more of those old WWII films before they are lost.

    Movies/TV shoes done on video like "Star Trek: The Next Generation" don't translate over to blu-ray very well as they weren't done on film.

    PS3 is probably the best to go if you your players are acting like crap.

    DVDs are fine if you aren't interested in blu-rays. Most of my TV shows and shows from overseas are in DVD format as they are in PAL format instead of NTSC.

    Yeah..I like movies and TV.

  22. #22
    mtbr member
    Reputation: friz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by shibiwan View Post
    Buy a PS3. Problem solved.

    No other Blu-Ray player has that many "other features", network connectivity, and constant firmware updates.

    -S
    +1

    Best bluray player on the market.

  23. #23
    DLd
    DLd is offline
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,425
    Quote Originally Posted by friz View Post
    +1

    Best bluray player on the market.
    My ps3 is 5 years old and has never failed to play a disc. I've never run a disc cleaner through it, and it even upgraded itself to play 3d blu-rays and games. I can also just put the SD card from my camera right in it to check out pictures on the big screen. You can even put CDs in and rip them right to the hard drive to use as an mp3 player for your stereo, or copy them to your phone over USB. It's awesome. Oh yeah, you can play games on it too!

    Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
    Enjoying the powder and looking forward to spring!

  24. #24
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Movies/TV shoes done on video like "Star Trek: The Next Generation" don't translate over to blu-ray very well as they weren't done on film.
    Give those Star Trek guys some credit. They are doing a great job restoring the old episodes. I can't wait till DS9 comes out in HD. Maybe then I will get a Blu Ray player.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  25. #25
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Fishbucket's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2,259
    I'm not buying in on the Blue-Ray stuff.. I have the LED tv to support the format...the DVD is good enough for us.

  26. #26
    mtbr member
    Reputation: friz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    369
    Quote Originally Posted by Fishbucket View Post
    I'm not buying in on the Blue-Ray stuff.. I have the LED tv to support the format...the DVD is good enough for us.
    A PS3 will make your DVD's look better too. It does a nice job of up converting to 1080p. When I bought mine the "up converting" players and PS3's were about the same $. No brainer.

  27. #27
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,315
    I don't have a bluray, but download 720 and 1080 files. There is a big difference.

    Most tech is sales marketing BS though. The trick is knowing which tech upgrades are worthwhile.

    If u don't already have good speakers, then hi def audio format is wasted.


    sent from one of my 4 gold leafed iphone4s's

  28. #28
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    We have the LCD televisions. They only do 720P. My old DVDs look a bit better on the LCD as opposed to the old tube television. The problem is that I have to turn the volume all the way to maximum to hear a movie with decent level of volume. I have the DVD player plugged in with standard RCA plugs. So much for new technology.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  29. #29
    banned
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,101
    I see this thread morphing into a "show me your home theater setup " thread...lol

    -S

    Sent from my Kindle Fire using Tapatalk 2

  30. #30
    since 4/10/2009
    Reputation: Harold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19,404
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    We have the LCD televisions. They only do 720P. My old DVDs look a bit better on the LCD as opposed to the old tube television. The problem is that I have to turn the volume all the way to maximum to hear a movie with decent level of volume. I have the DVD player plugged in with standard RCA plugs. So much for new technology.
    Onboard tv speakers suck. Always have. At least get a decent soundbar. Not as spendy as a full surround receiver and speaker kit, but still better audio. RCA connections are also insufficient for HD. 720p should be using at minimum component connectors. If you have an optical audio connector to use with the component video connectors, use it if you have good speakers that would benefit. If you have hdmi, use it.

    You can't go piecemeal with new tech devices and hook them together with old, crappy wires. You have to go all in if you want all the improvements. I still have and watch old dvd's on my blu ray player. It upcoverts them so they do look quite a bit better than original.

    I don't know about others, but cleaning my blu ray player addresses most of the problems. The rest come from rental discs that get scratched. Blu ray is less tolerant of scratched discs. I have a disc resurfacer to help out with that.

  31. #31
    check your six
    Reputation: sodak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,181
    Quote Originally Posted by shibiwan View Post
    Buy a PS3. Problem solved.

    No other Blu-Ray player has that many "other features", network connectivity, and constant firmware updates.

    -S
    X2... Can't go wrong with the PS3...
    "We can always find excuses if we want to find them, but if we really want to do something, we have to just go."

  32. #32
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Onboard tv speakers suck. Always have. At least get a decent soundbar. Not as spendy as a full surround receiver and speaker kit, but still better audio. RCA connections are also insufficient for HD. 720p should be using at minimum component connectors. If you have an optical audio connector to use with the component video connectors, use it if you have good speakers that would benefit. If you have hdmi, use it.
    No no. You don't get it. When we watch regular cable TV, volume is fine. When we play video games, volume is fine. We use the Xbox as a DVD player. put in a DVD and the volume has to be turned up to 90 percent just to hear normal levels of what it sounds like when watching TV. It was the same way when we had the DVD player connected. And yes we were using the component inputs and RCA inputs for the DVD player. I know RCA is not good for HD but we are not trying to do HD. No movie we own is HD. No optical connector on the DVD player or Xbox. Why use HDMI when we don't have any DVD player that uses HDMI? That makes no sense.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  33. #33
    since 4/10/2009
    Reputation: Harold's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19,404
    You were unclear in your post.

    That is common no matter what but having a better audio system will help. I still have to increase the volume when I play a blu ray disc, but I have a decent yamaha receiver and decent speakers so it is a relatively small adjustment. I do not control volume with the TV. Volume is controlled through the receiver.

    I said to use hdmi if you have the ports. If you do not, the statement obviously does not apply to you. Use the best cables your system allows you to use.

  34. #34
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Cool. The interesting thing is that when the same DVD player is connected to an old school tube television then volume is not and issue at all. These newer TVs have a few bugs. Would using gold plated RCA cables for volume help? I guess we could get the HDMI Xbox cable.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  35. #35
    DLd
    DLd is offline
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,425
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    No no. You don't get it. When we watch regular cable TV, volume is fine. When we play video games, volume is fine. We use the Xbox as a DVD player. put in a DVD and the volume has to be turned up to 90 percent just to hear normal levels of what it sounds like when watching TV. It was the same way when we had the DVD player connected. And yes we were using the component inputs and RCA inputs for the DVD player. I know RCA is not good for HD but we are not trying to do HD. No movie we own is HD. No optical connector on the DVD player or Xbox. Why use HDMI when we don't have any DVD player that uses HDMI? That makes no sense.
    Try asking on avsforum.com, there might even be a specific owner's thread for your TV under display devices. You'll probably have a better chance of finding someone with the same issue and possibly a resolution there rather than here. There's also a sub-forum for Xbox under the Home Theater Gaming forum where you might pose the question.
    Enjoying the powder and looking forward to spring!

  36. #36
    Evolutionsverlierer
    Reputation: acer66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    911
    Quote Originally Posted by friz View Post
    A PS3 will make your DVD's look better too. It does a nice job of up converting to 1080p. When I bought mine the "up converting" players and PS3's were about the same $. No brainer.
    can you unlock them so they play different region dvd's?

  37. #37
    DLd
    DLd is offline
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    1,425
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    Cool. The interesting thing is that when the same DVD player is connected to an old school tube television then volume is not and issue at all. These newer TVs have a few bugs. Would using gold plated RCA cables for volume help? I guess we could get the HDMI Xbox cable.
    Gold-plated won't make a difference, that's supposed to be for corrosion reduction. If your TV, and the X-box both have HDMI ports you can try that. Don't get suckered into thinking you need to spend $20 or $50 on an HDMI cable though. Just go to monoprice.com and they have ones for about $2-$5 depending on length. They work great. Shipping is reasonable, basically whatever it costs to ship. They don't have the shipping costs rolled into the price, so it's not free shipping.
    Enjoying the powder and looking forward to spring!

  38. #38
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    I believe the Xbox HDMI cable is a special cable made just for the Xbox. The back of my Xbox does not have the standard HDMI output port.

    By the way speaking of volume levels when we watch a pay per view over the cable box we have to turn the TV up to high levels to hear as well with all of the LCD TVs in the house, not just mine. That connection goes into the TV via a coax cable.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  39. #39
    mtbr member
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    20
    my Xbox has standard HDMI port, I believe if yours doesn't then you can only hook it up through the component hookup.

  40. #40
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    I talked to Gamestop. They make a special cable that goes from the Xbox to HDMI.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  41. #41
    banned
    Reputation:
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    1,101
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    I believe the Xbox HDMI cable is a special cable made just for the Xbox. The back of my Xbox does not have the standard HDMI output port.

    By the way speaking of volume levels when we watch a pay per view over the cable box we have to turn the TV up to high levels to hear as well with all of the LCD TVs in the house, not just mine. That connection goes into the TV via a coax cable.
    Toss that Xbox in the trash and buy a PS3

    *runs away*

    -S

  42. #42
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    Quote Originally Posted by acer66 View Post
    can you unlock them so they play different region dvd's?
    For just a DVD player you'd need one that has been "hacked" to play region free. You can't just buy a region free player in the store. PAL is standard format for TVs in Europe and the US runs on NTSC. You can't just order a PS3 or a DVD from Europe either as their voltage is different and so are the plugs.

    I can run different discs on my computer via a program called VLC.

  43. #43
    mtbr member
    Reputation: Bethany1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    712
    Kona,

    I'd check avsforum.com as well. I don't know TV equipment stuff that well. It sounds like your audio settings are off via your TV and/or Xbox but I don't know how to set that up or diagnose what it is.

  44. #44
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Funny thing about that is this TV only has audio settings for treble and bass. That's it. I'll check out that site. Thanks!
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  45. #45
    CB of the East
    Reputation: bedwards1000's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,971
    +1 on Monoprice. Any cables you want at a fraction of retail.

  46. #46
    Hi.
    Reputation: jtmartino's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,868
    Quote Originally Posted by Kona0197 View Post
    Funny thing about that is this TV only has audio settings for treble and bass. That's it. I'll check out that site. Thanks!
    If your Xbox doesn't have an HDMI out port, it's an older model and doesn't support HDMI. You will need to stick with component, or use the PC output (D-Sub) to your TV.

    The volume problem you are experiencing is common among Xbox 360s. I have the same issue, and it also affects streaming from my home server. Sometimes changing the audio settings on your Xbox from Digital Stereo to Dolby 5.1 solves the issue, but sometimes you're just stuck.

    Bottom line - the best Blu Ray player in the world (for the price) is the PS3.

  47. #47
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    If your Xbox doesn't have an HDMI out port, it's an older model and doesn't support HDMI.
    Nope. Brand new model. Only 2 months old, straight from the store. It's the newest model they make.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  48. #48
    check your six
    Reputation: sodak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    4,181
    Kona-
    I do not own an Xbox, but I do own a PS3. It sounds to me that you should get into the "settings" features on your Xbox and see what type of audio signal/source is being sent from your Xbox. I know with my PS3, I can change the types of cabling/connections and type of signal to be used for the device. It may not work for your problem, but it is a free option to try.

    Also, if you have the ability to run HDMI from your Xbox to your TV you should really try that. I also agree, being an AV specialist, that you do NOT need to spend the extra money on any fancy HDMI cable. Just grab a $10 one as it will work no differently than the $100 one.

    Here is a link to a page about setting the audio features in the 360.

    Xbox Audio Settings | Connect And Configure Digital Audio On Xbox 360 - Xbox.com
    "We can always find excuses if we want to find them, but if we really want to do something, we have to just go."

  49. #49
    Live 2 Ride
    Reputation: Kona0197's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    5,952
    Thanks for the link but I don't have a digital input on the TV. Besides the volume is fine when playing games, it just needs to be turned up to play DVDs.
    My Bike: '15 Trek FX 7.2
    My Blog: http://http://kona0197.wordpress.com/

  50. #50
    AZ
    AZ is offline
    banned
    Reputation: AZ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    19,201
    Sell the video game and go outside.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •