New addict
    Jun 2016

Your typical lunch on the trails

So I'm relatively new to mountain biking (not adventure sports though) and consider myself a general trail/all-mountain rider. Recently a few friends and I did a 4 hour xc ride and for lunch, we brought a loaf of Italian bread, carton of lunch meat, and some Havarti cheese. It taste fantastic and fresh and is my go-to for skiing (keep in the car) and road-trips. But its kind of bulky to fit in a slim camelback along with extra water, tools, and spares.

So what do you guys normally do for lunch? Make a pb&j and call it a day?

because GIANT
    it's gonna depend on the ride and how hard

you want camelbak sized stash
    a pile of [nutrition bars] or bananas

mtbr member
    protein bars, peanut butter and honey sandwiches (although they really get messy in the heat), and fruit. I can normally leave it in the car though, swing by on a loop, eat, and heat back out. Smashed banannas in a camelbak aren't fun.
    "a hundred travel books isn't worth one real trip"

Log off and go ride!
    Jul 2003
    Not lunch meat and cheese. Way too much fat and protein for me.
    I use fruit and nutrition bars. Sports drink.

mtbr member
    Apr 2016
    Dry salami
    Bananas
    Jack in the box dollar menu chicken sandwich or grilled breakfast sandwich for the long rides.

I like to use almond butter instead of peanut butter when I can afford it. I feel like it fills me up more.

mtbr member
    And no matter what, no milk. I had a bowl of cold cereal before a long ride. Like it turned to sour cream in my stomach after an hour. Cheese, in small amounts, maybe. No milk.

Warrior's Society
    I don't eat on rides.

My preference is Tailwind Nutrition. Calories in a bottle. Keeps it simple. Rides up to 11 hrs. Get all the goods that I need to get through the ride. Don't even carry food on the rides anymore.

Than I eat whatever I want afterwards.