mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Whey before competition?

Hi guys, what do you think, is it good to take whey protein before competition, can I have better result with that?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Whey before competition?

I am by no means a nutrition expert but I generally avoid whey protein before an early morning race (my races are Adventure Races and can last anywhere from 6-24hrs). This is because I will normally need to hit the head an hour so later and occasionally get bad gas.

Taking a small amount during a long race and after a race might be a good idea. You might just need to experiment.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    My races are about 1hr long, what do you think about it?

mtbr member
    Jul 2007

Whey before competition?

Again not an expert but whey is primarily used to build/repair muscle. For a long duration race the amino acids in the whey will help prevent your body from consuming muscle mass as fuel. For an hour long race I don't think you would breakdown enough muscle to warrant consuming taking a whey before the race. You would be better taking it after the race to help recover. That being said if you take it well before the race, giving your body enough time to process the whey, there shouldn't be an issue taking it the morning of an afternoon race.

If you are looking to get a boost from the whey during your race I think you need to look at a different supplement.

mtbr member
    Aug 2012
    Thank you very much I take it after training, but I thought that it might be helpful

Any other opinions?

mtbr member
    Soy protein before....whey after....check out Hammer Nutrition

Log off and go ride!
    Jul 2003
    The conventional wisdom is to avoid a big dose of protein before. A small amount added to your carbs will help, but the the pre-exercise nutrition should not be protein heavy. Same as the immediate post-exercise nutrition. Replace the glycogen first, then add protein.
    So many trails... so little time...

mtbr member
    Aug 2012