Go Speed Racer

Washing the Mule... Washing the Mule...

I have been rocking my Mule for about 2 years now, and she is pretty dirty and stinky. Probably way over due for a good cleaning. Thinking about emptying it out and doing a quick light cycle in the washer and then air drying... Any suggestions, recommendations, things to do, not to do? I searched around here looking for a thread about this before posting as I thought it would be covered and could not find anything, probably my search technique, so feel free to point me to the right thread(s).

I had surgery last week and looking for any maintenance tasks that are overdue to keep my mind off of not riding! Bike is cleaner that it was new, and all lubed and tuned, time to move on to the gear.

Thanks for any input!

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    bleach and water

Go Speed Racer
    Thanks...

Found this on the camelback website, think this is what I will do, don't want to void any warranties CamelBak | Cleaning - How to Clean Your Backpack

We recommend wiping your pack with a damp cloth to remove dirt. If the pack is extremely dirty and needs a deeper cleaning, soak it in cool or warm water with a very mild soap. Rinse the pack thoroughly with cool water. If soap residue remains in the fabric, it may create suds if exposed to water or sweat.

DO NOT wash your pack in a washing machine. Machine washing may damage the pack or affect the integrity of the fabric and fasteners, and will void the Got Your Bakô Guarantee.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    I figured you were talking about the bladder.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Washing the Mule... Washing the Mule...

I have the mule NV and I've had no problems washing it in a washing machine. I open all the pockets, put it in a mesh garment bag and wash on a cold gentle cycle with regular detergent. Done it several times with no problems. I do remove the yellow rain cover though.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I wash mine in the washing machine too.