mtbr member

Supplements and diabetes

I've been riding for a few months now, just started after being diagnosed with diabetes type 1. In my first trips I would drink water during rides but my blood sugar level will go bellow normal and I would need to eat a candy or something. Because of that I started drinking gatorade on each ride. Gatorade keeps my sugar where it needs to be through the ride. I've been wanting to try some supplements for example, hammer gels, but I'm a little worried about it.

I was wondering what do people with diabetes use when they ride.

Tomorrow I will try one of these gels, but dont know if I should take gatorade or water with me. These gels have like 2g-4g of sugar, and the guy in the LBS said that these where for diabetics.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Im type 1, and i carry the gell packs with me, but usually eat some fruit and/or energy bar. The length of the ride and how much climbing is involved plays a big part in what i eat before hand. i always wear a camelback with extra food/supplies just in case.

mtbr member
    I do the same, I bring water and gatorade. I just recently started using the hammer gels. Dont taste good but they do the trick. I bring food and stuff but keep it on the car since I really dont need anything while i'm riding. After I finish thats another story.

mtbr member
    May 2006
    My riding partner is diabetic and there's always a banana or two waiting in the car and there is always extra bars, gels or shot blocks in the pack. As well the bladder carries water and waterbottle is a gatorade mix. The other thing that's important is that there are certain times of day that are better for him to ride than others but I think that's something he's just figured out based on his personal experience and condition.

Ibexbiker
    Apr 2006