mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Riding Preparation and Hydration

Hey guys. Im kinda new to riding and for now only have a bottlr to carry on rides. I've heard people talking about hydrating before rides. What would most of you guys consider the proper amount of water to try to take in prior to a 1 1/2 to 2 hour ride with only having a bottle cage out on the trail. Also, in what time frame should you e doing thos and how far ahead of your ride?

gran jefe
    Nov 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Nubster View Post
    IMO the best thing is to make sure you are always hydrated but before riding I'll put down maybe 32oz of water before leaving the house. Since the trails are 50 minutes from my house, that gives things plenty of time to move through my body before I start riding.
    if i had only one bottle, and it was summertime, and i was going to ride for two hours, i would do this, plus try to get down another 20-30 oz at the trailhead. both bottles would definitely be something with some electrolytes in it too.

mtbr member
    IMO the best thing is to make sure you are always hydrated but before riding I'll put down maybe 32oz of water before leaving the house. Since the trails are 50 minutes from my house, that gives things plenty of time to move through my body before I start riding.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psycle151 View Post
    Friggin' coward. Give me a red chiclet instead of debating like a man. You don't deserve your green blocks.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Def depends on air temp & humidity. You lose a lot more fluid via breath if you are riding out 'west' as opposed to 'back' east. Usually a 12-16oz bottle would suffice me if I sipped while riding.

Only downside to drinking a lot before you ride is that end up peeing trailside 20 mins later, and you can only smile as other riders zip past your back.

Found this online: