mtbr member
    Aug 2012

New question here. Reccomended Before During and After Supplement

I know there are plenty of supplements out there, unfortunatley I have very little knowledge when it comes to this subject.

I'm 19, 6'0", 175lbs. I do some weight lifting, nothing crazy. I plan to continue weight lifting combined with my CC riding. I have changed my perspective and am trying to gain lean muscle apposed to bulking up. So can anyone on here point me in the right direction of some good supplements/vitamins/power food they use to really get an extra kick for there workout/ride? Looking to gain some endurance and get toned and seem to be hitting a wall when working out, or when I hit the 10 mile mark.

And to answer your questions ahead of time, NO I am not eating fast food or drinking any soda or sugar filled drinks of any kind. The only things I drink currently for the past 3-4 months is water and homemade smoothies. My eating habits could be a little better, the only thing stopping me is my lack of knowledge in the culinary department and cooking as well.

Thanks in advance guys. (p.s expendables 2 is terrible dont waste your money)

mtbr member
    I think you should be more specific in explaining what is "the wall" you're hitting. Is it on the same 1000ft , 10deg ascent you do every day, or is it on just some days you feel bonked.

Define your 10 mile mark first (i.e. name of trail, ascent peak, time of day u ride)?

You can condition yourself on the same trail, if you do it often enough a balanced diet is suffice, no real need for supplements unless there are malnutrition manifestations, such as nervous ticks, skin changes, breathing/circulatory problems.

mtbr member
    hmm, most body builders would agree that bulking up and then cutting will work better/faster. Also think most people who find good success would agree that diet is at least 60% of the equation.