mtbr member
    Oct 2016

Not eating enough?

Background on me, I was and am still overweight. I've been riding most of my life, but I didn't ride for about 6 years. Started again last year. I currently ride my plus bike 3-6 times a week. My wife and I are training for a multi-day, 300 mile bikepacking trip this fall. We ride fire roads, double track, single track, bike paths, road, and a mix of it all. I push myself to maintain 14+ mph averages on the bike paths (10-25 miles), 10+ on the hillier road rides, and the mountain/mixed rides are a crap shoot for average speed.

6 weeks or so I started the 30 day gallon of water a day thing and I really kick started a health kick for me.

I almost immediately started eating about half of what I was eating before I started (I just pretty much ate whatever, whenever before this).

I got into a pretty consistent eating schedule. Eating 5 times a day, starting with breakfast when I get up, around 8 or 9 depending on the day, small lunch at noon, snack around 3, dinner 6-7, and something light around 9pm. Bed time is usually 12-1am.

A few weeks ago I started counting the calories that I was eating (with no changes to my diet) and they were in the 1100-1600 range, daily.

Last week I started shooting for an actual goal, of maintaining a minimum of 1200 calories, and a maximum of 1300 on my off days, and a max of 1400-1500 on workout days (though I do exceed this occasionally, if my workouts require it).

Some days it seems hard to eat enough. The only carbs (ignoring carbs found in fruits and veggies) I have are for breakfast, cereal (whole grains only) or a slice of whole wheat toast with eggs.