mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Not another weight loss thread!

Sadly, yes, it is.

Hello everybody, I'm pretty new to the mtbr.com site, and I must say I like the activity here!

Ok, So i know that on forums people don't like thread after thread of the same thing. so, before you move on with "Oh man, another one?!" Hear (read) me out.

Little introduction.

Hi, I'm Hartman. About 2 years ago I was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism, it is a gland in your neck that controls your metabolism. Here is a short read, to help anyone understand

((((((((("""""""Where is the Thyroid and What Does it Do?

Your thyroid is a small bowtie or butterfly-shaped gland, located in your neck, wrapped around the windpipe, behind and below the Adam's Apple area. The thyroid produces several hormones, of which two are key: triiodothyronine (T3) and thyroxine (T4). These hormones help oxygen get into cells, and make your thyroid the master gland of metabolism.

The thyroid has the only cells in the body capable of absorbing iodine. The thyroid takes in iodine, obtained through food, iodized salt, or supplements, and combines it with the amino acid tyrosine. The thyroid then converts the iodine/tyrosine into the hormones T3 and T4. The "3" and the "4" refer to the number of iodine molecules in each thyroid hormone molecule.

When it's in good condition, of all the hormone produced by your thyroid, 80% will be T4 and 20% T3. T3 is considered the biologically more active hormone -- the one that actually functions at the cellular level -- and is also considered several times stronger than T4.

Once released by the thyroid, the T3 and T4 travel through the bloodstream. The purpose is to help cells convert oxygen and calories into energy.""""""""""""))))))))))

^^^^ was going to post a link to that for credit where credit is due thing, but forum wont let me.