mtbr member

Just started biking again, need tips for energy.

I just got my Cobia last week and started training for a 150k MS ride I'm doing with my son end of Sept.
    I haven't ridden in 10 years so I'm way behind on nutrition for pre, during, and post rides.
    Can you give me some examples of what I should consume prior to a ride, what should I have in my bottle/pocket during a ride, and what should I have afterwards to recover?

I'm riding at least 3 times a week with shorter (5 mile) high cadence 90-95rpm and a longer weekend ride if at least 10 miles at 85-90 rpm.
    As the weeks go by I'm adding more miles to each session. Any recommendations or advice?

Sent via mental telepathy.

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Nutrition is different for everyone but I will tell you what works for me. When I started riding a few years ago I thought I needed to eat huge amounts of food the morning of a ride to feel strong for that day's ride but later learned this was only hurting me with digestion issues, etc. These days I'll eat 300-500 calories before a good ride then use gel or a powder like perpetuem (for 3+ hour rides) during the ride. I really like fruit smoothies before rides as they give me plenty of easily digestible fuel and don't give me any weird digestion issues. Other great options include oatmeal with a bit of peanut butter and honey, whole fruits and veggies (watch the fiber intake though), a couple pancakes, etc. As I mentioned before, I prefer gels or powder mixes while riding, simply for the convenience. With running or road biking, I find liquid fuels are a must as solids give me severe cramps but with mountain biking I can eat things like clif bars or even sandwiches without issue. After a ride, it's good to re-up your body with some lean proteins and even some carbs. Just about any decent meal will suffice. As with anything, you'll have to find what works for you. Good luck!

mtbr member