mtbr member
    Jan 2012

hydration pack advice

im looking to buy a hydration pack but i need one that can hold a lunchbox of food, tools, a bottle of water and possible a jacket. i have a budget of up to 30-40 pound.

could anyone help?

thanks

mtbr member
    Look at the Osprey line of packs...very nice and feature-laden.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

Rides the Desert
    Yea Ospreys is good.

mtbr member
    The magnetic bite-value is no-joke, I LOVE IT. No more tube bouncing around. I have had Camelbak products for years and they are fine, but the Osprey just is much nicer IMHO. I have a smaller pack, the Viper 7; I rarely ride more than 2 hours and am always a short hike back to civilization.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    I'm having the same problem. I now use my old army bag which is a giant CamelBak "Mother Load", way to big for what I need. I need something slightly bigger than the Osprey's, carry small tool kit, first aid, extra tubes, pump, and snacks, also water bladder. Anybody have any suggestions?

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by TiGeo View Post
    Look at the Osprey line of packs...very nice and feature-laden.
    +2 I have had camelbaks and a new Osprey pack. The Osprey feels better, and has way more options. Nothing against Camelbaks but the Osprey is a really top notch pack.

mtbr member
    The Osprey options are probably pretty limited for only 40pounds. They are on the highend of the price range when it comes to hydration packs. That said, they are good quality and certainly worth the money. CamelBak is good stuff as well. Personally, I love my HydraPak though the one I got is a little small. When I can afford it, I'll get a larger pack, another HydraPak.
    Last edited by Nubster; 05-24-2012 at 09:20 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psycle151 View Post