Thread: HURT LEGS???'s

mtbr member
    Jul 2013

HURT LEGS???'s

I ride single track all day about 40 miles per week, sometimes more if sunday funday is added lol. so this is my first year and i have been riding pretty hard. i have found that if i eat a lot of protein and drink a little whey before a ride it helps A LOT with sore muscles!!! and clifbars! shock blocks! and this has been working for me for about a month! well this last weekend (sunday) i road 26 miles single track and pushed it hard up a dirt road beating my old time by 7 minutes! craziness! well i road tuesday and found that i didnt have any energy what so ever and road really slow and easy! then wednesday i was DEAD! i couldnt ride fast AT ALL... beat up and my legs HURT so bad... i did what i usually do but the ride sunday was VERY intense! needless to say today its friday and my legs are VERY SORE STILL! i dont know what i did but this is ridiculous! i cant even walk up stairs or get off the couch with out it hurting! i tried a nice swim to help stretch a little and that didnt help! been eating chicken eggs and whey to see if this helps and this has not! does anyone know what i can do to help with this? im lost and losing ride time lol. someone please help!!! sorry for the ramble and punctuation errors HA.

AZ
    banned
    You need recovery time after big efforts. Nutrition after the ride is also as important. Rest days after big days with easy zone 1/2 rides to help the legs recover. Massage and a foam roller would probably help also.
    Last edited by AZ; 07-05-2013 at 04:56 PM.

The Tyranical Teabagger
    Dude, go buy yourself one of these:

Welcome - Trigger Point Performance

Best thing I've purchased in a long time. Also, protein IMMEDIATELY after a ride is crucial to help rebuilding the muscle tissue you've torn up during your ride.
    I like bikes.
    2012 Transition TransAm 29er
    Salsa Selma with 80m Lefty

Tailwind Nutrition
    Nov 2012