mtbr member

HELP! I'm getting seriously BONKED going up long steep hills! How do you avoid that?

I'm new to real mountain biking (started a little over a month ago) and my bod is getting seriously bonked when riding up long steep hills. Its so bad that I have to resort to walking the bike...and its even worse in the heat. I'm pretty sure I've been drinking lots of water too. What do you do to avoid that?

Thanks
    Steve

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Keep riding, son, keep riding.

It's time in the saddle. Your body will eventually adapt.

Having said that, there are three strategies you can use to increase your hill climbing power and hopefully avoid bonking.

The first is nutritional. You probably don't have access to your body fat stores, like most Americans, so you have to refuel when you run out of blood sugar, which is in about 45 minutes of effort at the lactate threshold. A quick fix is to eat some instant energy. A Gu, shot block, some honey, a banana, all will work. THis is short term. Long term, you want to train your body to run more on fat than on carbs. But that's another can of worms for later.

In terms of the ride itself, you can do these two things:

First, ride slower and easier on your climbs. Pace yourself. Do it a few times like this and see if it helps.