dpo
    mtbr member
    Apr 2012

New question here. Gluten free pasta- can you still carb up?

Ok...I am new to to all of this and this may well be a stupid question. I was wondering as I am switching from whole wheat pasta to gluten free, I was wondering if this type of pasta will still work well to "carb up" the night before a ride. I then noticed on the package it actually has a few more carbs than the regular whole wheat pasta I was eating. Not knowing a ton about nutrition and riding are these the same type of carbs? Is there anyone else here that can shed a light on gluten free pasta. I believe the ingredients are corn flour and rice flour. I came here to ask the experts!

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    yes carbs is carbs
    --
    but if you want to maximize food intake vs available energy stored...
    skip that pasta stuff if you want to carb load and avoid glutens

Potatos mang....potatos have more skull-crushing cycling power in them than pasta, at least in my experience all my best rides were big potato+tuna eatin either a carb load cycle, or 1 or 2 days before

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    so given your best rides were done close to ingestion of potato it means these have more energy then pasta right?

C'mon...

mtbr member
    Nov 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by Devincicx View Post
    so given your best rides were done close to ingestion of potato it means these have more energy then pasta right?

C'mon...