Miami, FL

Gel vs Bar vs Drink? Learn me.

So this weekend I went out as usual with 3L of water on my back (I drink about 2L here in sunny FL in a ride lol)

Then at the end, to replace stuff, I drink a 16oz sports drink and a bar on my drive back.

This time I stopped at the LBS afterward and they have all the various goodies in stock.

Everyone has their own favorites so I'll keep it generic concerning 'brand'.

This process seems to be working so far, but these are just gentle/medium rides lasting barely 90 min. I figure a hard ride in the same amount of time would necessitate more energy demands but the last time I went hardcore in the beginning, like lifting weights, I wiped myself out for two weeks and I'm just starting out after years of relative inactivity.

Just wondering what the 'ideal' might be.

Water/drink DURING the ride? (Instead of 100% water)

Where/when would the gel fit in?

How about the bar?

Dan
    Trek 3500 disc

mtbr member
    Water and shot bloks here. Love um. Big key...hydrate b4 the ride. The day b4. Water is better than beer for that. Ive used both from time to time...

Hazardous to your health!
    one bottle of gatorade, and 100 oz of water during a ride. i eat a simple good ol granola bar. i do take goodies and eat em when i can get them for free and in that case my favorite is shot bloks but they are a pretty penny. oh and bananas!
    2011 Specialized Rockhopper: Captain Tires, Disc Brakes, 24 speed

Upgrades:
    Shimano Clipless pedals
    x9 Rear Derailleur

gran jefe
    Nov 2011