mtbr member
    Jan 2011

Diet change for the better cause muscle cramps.

2 years ago I started getting cramps in my hamstrings at night after a hard ride or race.(very painful cramps. felt like being stabbed in the back of the leg). Always hydrate well. Just thought is was because I'm getting older.
    After reading in hear about home made sport drinks with lite salt to prevent cramps, I'm wondering if my diet change contributed to my cramping. Earlier in the same year, I switched to a much more natural food diet. no processed food, and stopped using salt altogether due to heartburn, and my wifes dietary requirements.
    I have little knowledge of nutrition, and may be way oversymplifying this.
    Using supplement during and after race, and more stretching has helped, but not eliminated cramping.
    Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    fwiw, ymmv:

A friend of mine, at about 50 yrs old, started getting cramps the last couple years. I believe it was mostly on the bike symptoms, but at any rate, he now swears by taking magnesium supplements and has since greatly reduced their occurrence.

No doubt your diet is(at least) a contributing factor, keep searching and good luck!

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    Thanks for the response. Heard recently about magnesium also.
    Also seems like newer medical research is showing no link between dehydration, or electrolyte loss with excersise associated muscle cramping. But I have also found quite a bit of info about potassium, and magnesium for preventing muscle cramps. Lots of info I'm finding contradicts other info.
    I have been finding that stretching for longer before and after riding has had the biggest impact.

mtbr member
    It's thought to be a trio of minerals, magnesium, potassium, and calcium, and how they work together or don't. Salt also effects the levels of other things, like calcium, and how it can or can't get used.