Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Creatine

mtbr member

Creatine

I did a quick search and didn't find much...but sorry if this is an old topic. I am new to the Nutrition forum. My question is on creatine. I come from a weight lifting background where I used creatine for many years to great success, but stopped using it when I got serious about cycling - largely because it seemed other cyclists didn't use it. But I have always wondered why. It seems many of it's benefits would also be applicable to cycling. Do others use creatine and I just don't know? Or are there reasons why it doesn't make sense for cyclists? I know that weight gain due to water retention would be a negative, but other than that...? Thanks!

mtbr member
    I think its great for strength training and building muscle mass, but most of cycling sports are endurance focused. I use it for heavy weight lifting days, but i doubt it has a huge effect on my biking performance.

Log off and go ride!
    Jul 2003
    Creatine does not increase aerobic capacity. Its effect is on skeletal muscle fiber. The heart is a different type of muscle fiber.
    Some anecdotal evidence creatine reduces endurance.
    So many trails... so little time...

mtbr member
    Good stuff. Thanks for the replies guys.

mtbr member
    Some creatines can be loaded with sugars. It can also make some people jittery. You'll have to take enough daily for long enough to build up levels for it to be useful. Some newer stuff is coming with fast absorbing carbs which seems interesting. Some say that the added water weight that they gain slows them down, and you will add water weight. i'm not a big supplement person but have cycled on/off creatine a few times with effects/results that impressed me, even for cycling. Energy is more explosive, comes easier and happens longer. can't see how that doesn't push boundries/limits, or is bad for training, if you don't get crazy with it, and are otherwise in good health.
    Round and round we go