mtbr member

Camelbak Charge?

Over the years, I have gone back and forth on bottles vs. packs. I like both and they both have their upsides and downsides. Lately, I have been on a bottle kick with stuff in jersey pockets or Awesome Strap - still will use this system for racing. I only ride at most a few hours on my normal rides....often only an hour. Bottles definitely keep you from over-hydrating and help you regulate your hydration so I don't need a big pack..the Mule is simply overkill for what I do. I am intrigued by the lumbar packs as one of the main issues to me with the backpack style packs is that the weight is high and moves around during obstacles etc. What is everyone's opinion of the lumbar packs? I tend to be a minimalist w/r to tools etc. The Charge looks like a good solution for me.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

mtbr member
    I've never had a problem with over hydration!

mtbr member

Re: Camelbak Charge?

I really like my Rogue. Retail $68

http://m.camelbak.com/rogue/d/1035_cl_4047

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by MSU Alum View Post
    I've never had a problem with over hydration!
    Hahaha..I understand. What I am saying is that you don't need to drink. 3l of water on a 10 mile ride. The bottle allows you to see how much you have so you don't run out. If you stay hydrated normally you won't need to chug oodles of water on the ride.

mtbr member
    Went to REI today and checked it out..not for me. Seems hard to get the bladder out. Too much going on for me...will stick with the bottles for now.

mtbr member
    I just started using a Hydrapak Streamline and it's really nice. The bladder comes out nicely and is reversible so it's easy to clean and let dry out. And it holds just about everything I wanted it to.
    2012 Specialized Carve Comp 29
    IMBA Member
    Team J3 :: http://www.ridej3.com

mtbr member
    Jun 2011