mtbr member

After years of expensive energy foods...an easier solution...

Snickers Bars, Gatorade, and Smuckers Uncrustable PBJs (freezer section). I have used all manner of energy foods for racing and long rides for years. This year, in a recent 50-mile race (Monstercross) I went with a different strategy (or is that strategery?)...I took 2 GUs with me (they do have caffeine) but used regular Snickers Bars and Smuckers Uncrustable PB&Js. The little sandwiches are compact, fit in your jersey pocket, and are easy to open/eat/digest while riding. I had no bonks and felt great. I typically have used Cytomax (alternating with a bottle of water every hour) but went with Gatorade which honestly works just as good. Anyway...sometimes the KISS principle works and unless you are an uber athlete, you just need some carbs (sugar) and a little protein to balance it out.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2012 Specialized Stumpy EVO 29 HT

AZ
    banned
    Real food, who da thunk it. Works great, been doing it for decades. Great tip on the sandwiches.

mtbr member
    I just make my own peanut butter and honey sandwiches. I pre cut them in fourths and put in a baggy an good to go. Don t like the processed foods, trying to get away from it as much as possible. Thinking of adding some sliced banana on the sandwich net time and see how that works out. I also use some of the gu but mostly for the caffeine.

mtbr member
    Agree with everything except the Gatorade. The amount of sugar in it makes my stomach knot up.

Log off and go ride!
    Jul 2003
    Dump the snickers and gatorade.

I use dried fruit and a small amount of nuts, sometimes add honey nut cheerios to the mix.