mtbr member

Moving to Charlotte! Bring on the biking!

Okay, so I'm moving to Charlotte next month. How's the biking? What's the travel time to get to some exciting rides? I'm on a Fuel EX, so I'm no stranger to riding and have been riding for 10 years. I can only imagine it's pretty sweet considering I live in Florida currently and love the riding that we have to offer.

Anyone know of good areas to rent in? AKA, my GF and I are 25 years old, outgoing, social, etc. I'm a pilot, so I'm going to be traveling a bunch, so I don't want her sitting alone in the boonies - rather I'd want her to be home in an "exciting" area.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Don't know much about living in Charlotte, but there are a lot of options (I'm in Greenville SC). I would say that the northwest quadrant of the area puts you in the best position - Kerr Scott is a little over an hour and if you are situated close to I-40 (Huntersville area seems nice and close to the lake too) you can shoot down to Old Fort in a bit over an hour and be in Asheville (I-40) or Pisgah (I-85, US74, I-26) in about 2 hours. Not too bad. I have not been to the Whitewater Center, but I have heard good things. It's also not too far from the airport (you say your a pilot, so I'm assuming a short commute to the airport is a plus, too). Just my $0.02.
    "Get busy living, or get busy dying"

mtbr member

Yeah I need to live within 45 mins since I'm on call. Not flying for airlines thankfully.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    My wife and I moved up from Fl about 2 yrs ago. We are in the Chapel Hill area & we love it up here. My MTB time has increased exponentially. I don't know much about Charlotte rental area, but like 'Ride-Beer' said Kerr-Scott (Warrior Creek Trail) is great. I am sure that there is plenty of local trail that you will find once you move up... get in tight with a LBS