Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Lake Norman State Park-new trail

4K views 32 replies 14 participants last post by  Dirt Engineer 
#1 ·
The Wildlife loop opened today at LNSP in Troutman NC bringing the total singletrack mileage to 30.5 miles. The trails are great Piedmont NC riding offering trails for all skill levels and the scenery is pretty fantastic too!

#22 ·
I ride the LNSP trails quite often,,,as I work in Hickory, N.C., live in Newton, N.C., and get to ride during the week either in Hickory or Troutman. Either just after work on a night ride, or on my day off on Tuesday at either LNSP or a trip to Wilkesboro, Boone, or Wilson's Creek. I've been a land manager at a trail system, and know all-to-well how negative criticism solves nothing and raises hard feelings of the volunteers and people who also donate time, money, supplies, tools, etc for the efforts of having "some trails" to ride in your local area. I think the volunteers are doing a geat job! These people are taking time out of their lives to help build, sustain, and promote mountain biking! Kudos to those who volunteer to help build the trails at LNSP, and those that criticize should come out on the volunteer days to "throw some dirt" instead of throwing opinions. IMHO :thumbsup:

#4 ·
We camped at Lake Norman a few weeks ago, and we really enjoyed the riding. The trails make excellent use of the available acreage and terrain features, and were very well maintained. I am glad to hear there are even more miles to ride!

We have guests from MI in town for Thanksgiving, and we are thinking about adding Lake Norman to our ride schedule, so we don't have to kill them with climbs they are not accustom to riding... plus I am craving Cowfish...

#14 ·
Just so everyone reading this thread sees this:

THE REST OF THE TRAILS AT LAKE NORMAN ARE EXAMPLES OF SOME OF THE BEST TRAIL BUILDING I'VE EVER SEEN.