Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Biking near UNC Asheville

1K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  jerry68 
#1 ·
Tried to post this yesterday but accidentally put it in the 27.5/650b forum:
Hello, I'm a high school senior who has all but decided on UNC Asheville for college. Part of the appeal to me is the amazing trails nearby. However going in as a freshman I will not be able to have a car. I currently ride 4 times a week and would like to continue to do so as I entered college. I went to visit last weekend and was somewhat disappointed by the lack of trails near campus. I ended up riding bent creek which was a blast, but was an 18 min drive. Seeing as that was the closest trail system I could find will it simply be impossible to keep up my riding habits without a car? Are there any other trails within biking distance of campus for a short hour long ride during the weekdays? My graduation present is a new MTB partially because I'm going to such a great area. Now I'm worried I won't be able to use it as much as I'd like.

#4 ·
Richmond Hill is less than a 15 minute bike ride away; it's a pretty easy ride traffic-wise but has one very significant hill. I ride up it 3-4 d/w on my way home from work and it's not that bad, but the hill is there. If Nolan is still the outdoor education guy at UNCA, he knows Richmond Hill very well and can show you the way. There's 4 miles of fun trails that can be linked to ride around for about 50minutes to 1:30, depending on how fast and creative you are and how willing you are to do "laps."

FWIW, Richmond Hill should have new improved signage soon and a map by...mmmm..let's say the end of the summer. The re-route is finally done...

#5 ·