Thread: 29er Tires

mtbr member
    Dec 2006

29er Tires

Well, since the snow is now on the ground and looks like it will be for a few days in WNC at least, I thought you guys might be interested in helping me out a bit. I've got a 29er hardtail (my first 29er) and I've been riding it for a few months now. Love it! I'm riding 2.2 Mountain Kings right now and I like them a lot, but I'd like to do some experimenting with other tires. I live in Black Mountain and ride all of the Pisgah, Dupont type stuff. What are you guys using? Tubeless or with tubes? I've never done tubeless either and would love some advice on how to get started with that.

Help me out (and keep me entertained).

Thanks

drunken pirate
    I love Rampages front and back but they are heavy. Ardents are lighter, have less rolling resistance and hook up almost as good as the Rampages. CST Caballeros are a very good tire for the money. But nothing feels better in Pisgah to me than two Rampages

I run tubes. Tubeless is too much of a hassle for me as I'm rather lazy.
    More Trails, Not Less

Adventures in Pisgah

Drinker w/ Riding Problem
    i run Kenda Nevegal up front and Maxxis Ignitor in the rear (tubed) been a good combo for a rigid 29er singlespeed

H8 H8 H8
    Quote Originally Posted by driftwood
    I love Rampages front and back but they are heavy. Ardents are lighter, have less rolling resistance and hook up almost as good as the Rampages. CST Caballeros are a very good tire for the money. But nothing feels better in Pisgah to me than two Rampages

I run tubes. Tubeless is too much of a hassle for me as I'm rather lazy.

Lazy? Hassle? I felt a little bad throwing away those "tubes" you left in the EMD - because you must have had 20 hours of labor in each. Looked like you hand-crafted your own tubes by gluing patches together.

Anyway. Rampages in the winter for me. I need all the help I can get.
    Yeah, it's strange. But oh well.

Gabe.....