Cut Casing Whisperer

Norco Sight can't get full travel

Love my Sight, but I have not been able to get full travel. Even my most slack-jawwed, ham-fisted screw-ups on landing and I still have 10-15mm left on the shock shaft of travel. And that is at 30% sag.

I ran some numbers; shock leverage ratio at bottom out is close to 2.2. So that means 15mm on the shock = 30mm of travel unused.

I love the bottomless feel. But I've been riding a "110mm" travel Sight frame for a few years. I'm thinking the extra 30mm would be nice.

I think I know the issue. I learned the issue through the new "metric" sized shocks. From Vital MTB:
    Another factor that can drastically impact a shock's total spring curve is the pressure behind the internal floating piston (IFP). It turns out the popular inline 7.875x2.25" (200x57mm) shock size - which originated at frame designers' requests - is so tightly packed inside that there is very little room for this charge to compress near bottom out (blue arrow). This results in a huge and unfavorable addition to the spring curve in a super rampy way.
    Norco Sight can't get full travel-max_monarch_vs_deluxe_994453.jpg

The Sight's shock size is 200x57mm.

Is anyone else experiencing this issue? Travel left on the shock?

For me, I've been at near 40% sag, riding hard, and still not bottoming. I'm 200 pounds (+ pack!).

The challenge for me, is that I really like the Monarch RL, I added the Debbonair air can for a more linear spring. It's an outstanding inline shock, very solid compression and great rebound.

I guess I need to go piggyback shock for more IFP space to solve the bottom out, but I have to admit is sucks to have to pony up another $500 to remove a shock I really like, just to get that last bit of travel.

I guess the next question is what shock to replace it with?

Cane Creek DB Inline = same IFP problem? Why they are blowing up?
    Cane Creek DB Air = $$$, worth it?