mtbr member
    Jun 2010

Atomik 2009 low bbh setup?

I'm pretty new to the whole bike world so my frame geometry knowledge is quite limited. I bought a norco atomik 2009 and I was wondering how you set it up to the lowest bbh possible?

There are 2 holes in the golden suspension link, one that is "upper left" and one that is "lower right". I figured that the lowest one must be for low BBH... The top rear shock bolt is mounted on some silver bracket written "low/high bbh" with arrows on it depending on which side you look at. I'm not quite sure how that part works. How do you know it is set for low or high bbh? The arrows don't say much.

From what I understand, you can also modify your rear shock travel depending on how/where you fix it. How do you know you got the longest travel? I fail to see how it could be longer/shorter.

Thank you.

Im a Cowboy
    The bottm shock mounts DO NOT CHANGE RIDE HEIGHT they alter the travel (the hole closest to the front of the bike is the long travel setting)

the ride height is changed by moving the upper shock mount (if you honestly cant work out how to lower the bike even with the massive clue they actually stamped on the part, I suggest you give the thing to a shop .........youll probably feck something up)
    DON'T TELL ME I'M STILL ON THAT FECKIN' ISLAND! ....

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Most bike shops around my place don't sell a lot of DH bikes... And when they do, I feel like I'm playing russian roulette with my bike when I leave it to them. That's why I try figuring out most of the stuff by myself or by asking people when I don't want to screw up.

So yeah, thanks, your post was almost helpful.

Im a Cowboy
    If, as you say you like to figure things out for yourself (a seemingly dying attribute), why the heck dont you just unbolt the thing and take a look at it...............things will become even clearer then