mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Should I get a new RIP9?

Or something else? I've been riding a 29er since 2006 and want to continue but I'm leaning toward a FS bike this time. I've been looking and debating for a long time and have heard good things about the new RIP9's.

It's probably a little more bike than I need but I don't race much anymore and would rather have a little extra than come up a bit short on travel and whatnot.

I've ridden a new Fuel EX 8 29" and a few others and they're nice. We're getting a Niner dealer in town any week now (supposedly) so I'm looking forward to trying a RIP finally. I'm also going to ride the usual Specialized suspects since they're nearby as well. Any pro's, cons, or things to look for or compare? I'd probably get a 2-3 star spec'd bike or equivalent if all goes as planned.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    As i posted in the 29er forum, yes.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Thanks, I figured I'd ask both places since answers here might be a little biased. (which I'm normally guilty of in my posts)

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclones30 View Post
    Or something else? I've been riding a 29er since 2006 and want to continue but I'm leaning toward a FS bike this time. I've been looking and debating for a long time and have heard good things about the new RIP9's.

It's probably a little more bike than I need but I don't race much anymore and would rather have a little extra than come up a bit short on travel and whatnot.

I've ridden a new Fuel EX 8 29" and a few others and they're nice. We're getting a Niner dealer in town any week now (supposedly) so I'm looking forward to trying a RIP finally. I'm also going to ride the usual Specialized suspects since they're nearby as well. Any pro's, cons, or things to look for or compare? I'd probably get a 2-3 star spec'd bike or equivalent if all goes as planned.