mtbr member
    Jun 2009

RIP 9 RDO grease pivot bearings

I have a 2014 RIP 9 RDO that I have been riding for a couple of months. A clicking noise developed recently when the rear suspension compressed. I decided to take the linkage apart and clean and put in fresh grease. Does the bearing for the upper linkage stay in the rear triangle? Should it be pressed into the rear triangle? Mine came out along with the black linkage part. I packed in grease into the cutout hole and bolted everything back. The clinking noise is gone but just wanted to double check about that bearing.

RIP 9 RDO grease pivot bearings-rip-9-rdo-rear-triangle-highlighted.jpg

mtbr member
    Dec 2007

RIP 9 RDO grease pivot bearings

I would call Niner. They are superb. My gut tells me they should be pressed into the frame.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by onobed View Post
    I would call Niner. They are superb. My gut tells me they should be pressed into the frame.
    I think they are pressed in as well. I got a link to a service video from Niner:

RIP 9 RDO Hardware from Niner Bikes on Vimeo

The video shows the bearing staying in place when the bolt was removed. I'll give them a call.

mtbr member
    Feb 2015
    I have the same frame and my non-drive side bearing has started to push outward as well so there's a visible gap between the rocker arm and rear triangle (1 - 2 mm). Do I need to have that bearing replaced?

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by niner_marin View Post
    I have the same frame and my non-drive side bearing has started to push outward as well so there's a visible gap between the rocker arm and rear triangle (1 - 2 mm). Do I need to have that bearing replaced?

Thanks.
    Can you move the rocker side to side at the seat stay? Mine had some play, about a mm or two. This is what motivated me to take the suspension apart. I found the bearing in mine to be lose from the frame.