Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Rip 9 RDO Custom Build-- cross-check and verify please?

First, greetings to all. Long time listener, first time caller.

I've been riding a 26" Specialized FSR Pro Carbon for about seven years, but have finally decided to jump up into deep end of the 29'er pool after spending most of the summer demo'ing bikes. I tried the Rip 9 RDO and flat-out fell in love with it.

I've started a custom build of a Niner Rip 9 RDO, but since it's been a while since I built up a bike, I'd appreciate a look-over to see if there's anything I've missed . Or, if you have suggestions on a better component or something that doesn't work well together, any input would be *very* appreciated (and yes, feel free to mock on Grip Shift, but I've been riding them for 20 years and have been very pleased. Never could figure out those trigger things!)

Build is to be mostly for trail/XC, with the occasional (non-psychotic) downhill. Weight isn't the most important consideration, but rather the focus is on excellent components that work well together. I'm 48, 6' even, 190 lbs. plus gear, and have been seriously riding mountain bikes for about 20 years and road bikes for over 30 years. One variable is that I have a fused cervical spine and a mostly destroyed shoulder (war wounds), so certain build compromises (e.g. stem length and bar rise) are necessary.

Budget is out the door at under $6000. Right now, I'm right within a case of beer or two of that.

Here's the build:

FRAME: Niner Rip Nine RDO (Large)
    REAR SHOCK: Fox CTD
    FORK: RockShox Pike RCT3 Solo Air 140mm, 46mm offset
    HEADSET: Cane Creek
    STEM: Syntace Megaforce 2 (50-70mm, TBD)
    HANDLEBARS: Easton EC70 Carbon high-rise, 720mm
    GRIPS: ODI Cane Creek twist shift length lock on (90mm)
    BAR ENDS: Cane Creek Ergo II (w/ stiffening plugs)
    BRAKES: Front/rear Magura MT-6 disc
    BRAKE ROTORS: 180f/160r Magura Storm SL
    BRAKE ADAPTORS: North Shore Billet