Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Nov 2011

RIP 9 alloy review

I thought I would post some of my thoughts about the RIP 9 alloy I just purchased. This was a replacement to a Trek Fuel EX8 29er.

About myself: I have been riding off and on for about 20 years (since I was about 14) sometimes five years break before I returned to the sport. I Consider myself an aggressive XC rider but prefer to ride something more playful and capable that the typical XC race bike. I have ridden in the Midwest, Germany and German alps, and now in the southeast. I am now starting to travel out to other riding destinations within a few hours from here.

I purchased the 2014 Rip 9 alloy just this past weekend after a demo event in March. I found the Rip to corner much more naturally and it seemed to be such a stout/solid feeling bike. My demo was somewhat hindered as the first time out the suspension was set up very poorly giving me pedal strikes way too much. Turns out there was mostly no air in the rear shock. Also the wooded section of trail was closed off leaving me a technical granite rock section to ride. I was not in the market to buy at this time but weeks later found myself drawn to the bike.

Once I decided to purchase the Rip 9 I was torn between the 4 star build and 3 star build. I went for the 3 star because of the XT brakes and the 2x10 as I am not sure if I am strong enough rider for the north GA mountain riding. Then research led me to the rock shox pike. I was hesitant at first as I don't need 140mm travel but found out it can be reduced to 130mm for little cost. I then wanted a premium wheel. I was torn between the industry nine trails and was recommended the Roval Control Carbons. Both were the same price but the Rovals had a life time warranty vs 2yrs and the DT swiss simplicity won. Dealer gave me a great package taking the stock parts in trade.