Thread: Jet9 RDO Flex

mtbr member

Jet9 RDO Flex

I should have just made a "I'm a newb to 4k bikes, help!" thread.

Anyways, quick question for J9RDO owners. How much flex are you seeing in the rear triangle? Sometimes it almost feels like a flat tire (that lateral wobble) and I do get some creaking from it. If I stand off the bike and just put pressure on a crank I can see and hear a good amount of flex. The rear shock is set to pro-pedal if that changes anything.

This is normal I'm sure, just wanted some clarification. This is my first FS bike let alone carbon bike, I had a 30lb hard tail before.

Moosehead
    At 225 lbs and having come from stout Turner bikes, I have yet to notice any hint of flex in the J9RDO, and generally would describe the CVA pedal platform as semi-firm vs. say mushy. Best guess is you may be experiencing (1) your first full suss feedback, (2) lateral flex from the wheelset, or (3) a slightly under pressured tire?

mtbr member

Jet9 RDO Flex

I'm 245lbs so maybe that's part of it. I took a video to show the best I can and its kind of exaggerated because on pressing the crank inwards. You can definitely hear the breaking but I'm starting to think that it's the BB adapter.

http://youtu.be/4mjHPE1JDv4

It might be one of the cases where someone says "when I do this weird ass thing that I shouldn't be doing" to which a sane person would reply "well then don't do that weird thing." But I will say this is how I perceive the feeling when it happens. I usually notice it on turns (the flex). I'm not sure when it creaks, I need to pay more attention.

Daniel the Dog
    Mar 2008
    The Jet 9 RDO has some flex but most FS bikes do in the pivots. I think it is vastly overrated...if you want rigid get a stiff carbon frame like the Air 9 carbon. It will beat your arse but will be stiff.

mtbr member

Jet9 RDO Flex

Quote Originally Posted by Jaybo View Post