Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2013

Wink JET 9 RDO Trail/AM build

My name is Joe, I'm new to MTBR forum, long time reader first time posting.

I'm having 2012 Jet9 RDO put together at a LBS and I CAN'T WAIT to get this on the trail! I like fast aggresive downhill vs slow grueling uphill and I'm hoping this bike will change that a bit.

My question is, what can I do to make this as solid, smooth and as aggressive as possible on the downhill? (No RIP9 Option at this time)

This is a large frame left over stock that's coming with tappered RS Reba XX w/ RL 120mm and SunRingle BlackFlag comp rims w/ Maxxis Ignitor 29x2.1 tubeless, is there a better fork (125-130mm?) tire set-up for Trail/AM riding?

Should weigh around 25lbs, I'm ok w/ less than 27. I'm 5'11 190lbs w/ 34 inseam if this matters, thanks.

mtbr member
    If you want to do aggressive downhill, the must have is a dropper seatpost. Take a look at the Rock shock reverb. Beset upgrade for an AM bike of any type.

Those tires will not be that great for aggressive AM. There are many options and opinions on tires. The downside of more aggressive tires is almost always more weight and heavy tires is what you feel the most going uphill. It is a trade off. The maxis ardent is a nice all mountain tire to try. Most people run a little more aggressive in the front, since that is where most of your control is going downhill.

Carbon & Ti rule
    I used my Jet9 RDO for the sort of riding you are talking about.

The Ignitor is a nice tyre but for what you want I would go 2.25 Nobby Nic rear & 2.35 Hans Dumpf front.

A dropper post is a must, I have a Reverb on mine.

Short stem Approx 60 or 70mm & wide bars & just set them up a little higher than you would on an XC bike & I think you will be surprised how well the bike will work for you.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013