mtbr member
    Nov 2008

Jet 9 RDO groupo...swap over my XT group..or consider SRAM?

Sorry guys, I know we have been seeing a lot of jet 9 rdo threads lately...and I jumped on the sale price bandwagon...price was too good to not ride a niner carbon. My original intentions were to swap over majority of my newer model XT group (2x10)...but after seeing many other rdo's...SRAM seems to be the brand of choice. could be wrong..but I see a trend. This is a lightweight XC build...with fit being #1 priority, and weight being second priority.

I have a lot of experience with shimano and Normally, I'd make this decision myself based on real life riding scenarios but I'm curious why SRAM seems to be more popular. Id really like to give sram a try. Is it because niners press fit 30 bottom bracket is better suited for bb30 or gxp cranks? Any noticeable between a bb30 vs GXP crank? Different spindle size?

My options right now are to swap over my XT 2x10 drivetrain and brakes. Or build it to SRAM XO with my current XT brakes. I don't mind paying a little more to end up with a build under 25-26 lbs. From my calculations....all XT will add a full lb in weight. XO might get me under where I want to be...but involves more investment. XTR, XX, or XX1 are out of my league right now...and I'm not a strong enough rider for 1x10.

If it was your bike...Would you build it with XT 2x10 and replace parts as needed? Or go with the XO from the start? The plan is to ditch the current hardtail and go full suspension for a race ready build. I know both groupo's are awesome...just wanna avoid the "should have done it different" scenario.

Thanks guys.

mtbr member
    May 2005
    Since you claim not to be to weight conscience,

Get this BB adapter
    Race Face 2012

Then build it with what you have, but use the lightest wheels and tires you think you can use for your riding.

RPG
    mtbr member
    Sep 2005