Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Scant abuse

Is anyone happy with their Bio-centric ebb?

I have seen plenty of negative stuff; but negative is always easy to find.
    I am thinking of getting a One Nine. I already have an Air Nine and a RIP so I am quite happy with Niner bikes. I also have a XXIX and love singlespeeding. So I'm only asking for feedback on the ebb

Thanks
    Richard

banned
    Have been riding a One 9 for 2 months now, logged over 400 miles on it. Not one time has it slipped or creaked. So far it has been my favorite SS set up.

mtbr member
    I have been using the Niner EBB for 2 years now, first on a SIR9 and now on a One9 and although it is not a perfect system, what is? On my SIR the EBB was flawless, on the One9 I had to mess with it a bit to get it right but it was really not a big deal. I am sure there is a small number of people who have legitimate issues but for the most part, the people who are posting here on MTBR about problems they can't resolve are probably the same people who bring their bike in to the shop to get a flat repaired. In the unlikely event you have issues, if you have any mechanical inclination at all, you will be fine. You hit the nail on the head, it is easy to find people bashing it but the majority of users are happy and too busy enjoying their bike to post up on the internet.

mtbr member
    Another happy owner.

It does have to be set up properly but once that is done it works fine. Had a few initial problems adjusting it with an external BB but once I realized it was NDS bearing pre-load causing binding the EBB itself has been fine.

JMH
    Sugary Exoskeleton
    I am not dissatisfied. It's finicky, that's true. Every few months mine will start to creak so I remove, clean, reinstall according to instructions and I am good to go. I use one million foot pounds of torque and that pretty much solves any problems. Except stretching out the M8 bolt. But bolts are cheap.

mtbr member
    Mar 2006