mtbr member
    Sep 2008

UFO ST DHX5 spring weights?

Can somebody point me to a table of recommended spring weights for rider weight? I'm 160 lbs and currently have a 500lb spring, which feels on the stiff side. I am new to DH/FR so I stay away from the big drops (currently working on my confidence at 3 feet...).

Thanks!

"Its All Good"
    Quote Originally Posted by Flick
    Can somebody point me to a table of recommended spring weights for rider weight? I'm 160 lbs and currently have a 500lb spring, which feels on the stiff side. I am new to DH/FR so I stay away from the big drops (currently working on my confidence at 3 feet...).

Thanks!
    Hi Flick, welcome to the Nicolai forum area....

Odd no one has answered this question. A 5 hundy lb spring seems a little big for a 160lbs rider, is that your weight with riding gear and backpack on if you ride with one?

A good option would be to flick a PM across to an MTBR member Err, he has had a UFO ST and am sure he can help with this question, he is one knowledgeable cat....

Post up a thread with your bike, also if you could complete the build database for Nicolai UFO ST's

Also with owners whom have posted their UFO ST's in the build database may well be able to help you with spring weights....
    The_Lecht_Rocks: whafe - cheeers - may i offer an official apology for the wagon wheeler "dis-belief"

Drink...sleep
    You can also check out the springrate calculator posted some time ago on mtbr (for a version that works in Firefox as well, see: http://www.theride.ca/guru/spring-calc.htm). Far more accurate I find than the calculators you can find on some mtb suspension sites, like Mojo and TFTuned.

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    Thanks for the welcome and the replies. That spring calculater puts me at 350# Does that sound reasonable? It sounds like I order them directly from fox, so they'll probably be able to sanity check my decision as well.